New York Wine & GrapeNews



Call for Entries- 2017 New York Wine & Food Classic Image

Call for Entries- 2017 New York Wine & Food Classic

Jenn Cooper

Category: Industry

The New York Wine & Food Classic has become known as “The Oscars” of the New York wine industry. The 21 judges include wine writers, wine educators, retailers, restaurateurs and other experts from around the State and country. All samples are judged “blind” on their own merits, with the “Governor’s Cup” and other awards made public as soon as possible after the competition ends. The results of this competition get enormous publicity, which leads to enormous sales—but you have to enter to win!

Attractive Awards, Timely Publicity, and Commercial Benefits

  • The Governor’s Cup will be awarded to the best wine (made from grapes) of the competition.
  • A Winery of the Year award will be granted to the winery with the highest average score (based on the type and number of awards relative to the number of entries).
  • A Specialty Wine Champion award will be given to the best non-grape wine of the competition.
  • A Best Limited Production Wine award is included to encourage new, small wineries to enter, and to recognize that some very special wines are made in small quantities.
  • A Best Cider award will be given to the top-scoring New York hard cider in the competition.
  • A Best Distilled Spirit award will go to the top-scoring craft spirit in the competition.
  • Double Gold, Gold, Silver and Bronze Awards will be presented on a merit basis as determined by the panels of judges. All Double Gold winners automatically advance to the Governor’s Cup round, provided at least 100 cases are AVAILABLE at the time of the competition. Panels also have the option of advancing Gold medal wines if they choose.
  • The top scoring wine in each major category (Sparkling, White, Rosé, Red, and Dessert) will be honored as “Best New York.”
  • The top scoring wine in each major class (e.g., Chardonnay, Seyval, Red Blend) will receive a “Best of Class” designation. In order for there to be a Best of Class award, there must be at least 7 entries in the class.
  • The International Riesling Foundation’s Riesling Taste Profile is used in determining whether Riesling will be judged in the Dry, Medium Dry, Medium Sweet, or Sweet categories—each of which will have a “Best of Class” designee. It is now being used by major competitions as well as the Classic.
  • As soon as possible after the awards are verified, and the Governor’s Cup winners are notified by phone, full results will be posted on our web site under the Awards & Accolades section.
  • A press release and complete awards list will also be e-mailed and/or faxed to key individuals in the press and trade as soon as possible after the competition – in perfect timing for the fall selling season.
  • Medals will be sent to wineries as soon as possible after the competition. Please keep in mind that we cannot predict the number of medals needed, so they will be ordered after the competition is held.
  • The retail stores and restaurants represented on the judging panel will feature many of the award-winning wines during the fall and beyond.
  • The award-winning wines will be featured throughout the coming year in the Foundation’s promotional activities.